Of Dreams and First Jobs

Tomorrow is my first anniversary at NEWSlink and I can’t help but think how much I’ve grown – as a budding journalist and as a person – over the past year.

Last year, I started looking for a job even before graduation becuase 1. I was afraid that I will not meet my own expectations 2. I didn’t want to be a bum and wanted to start working on my goals right away and 3. I didn’t want to settle for anything less, meaning I wanted a job where I can write.

I’ve got to hand it to my seniors and professors who told me that the real world was going to be tough. They were absolutely right. I almost thought of giving up my dreams for the assurance that I will get any job – no matter what it is.

But I never gave up.

Despite the rejections, countless resumes I submitted and long hours on interviews and exams, it was all worth it in the end. I never had the confidence to claim that I will be successful in my chosen field. But I always knew that I love to write.

Our graduation fell on April 27, 2013 (Saturday). I was hired on April 24 (Wednesday) and I officially started working on April 29 (Monday). It all happened so fast that I even forgot to tell my mom that I wouldn’t be bumming for a few weeks, which she suggested.

In the real world, my ego was crushed and my first few articles were bombarded with red marks. It was painful to see (and read). My business articles wouldn’t even pass for a local daily, my news stories’ leads needed to be corrected a few times…and don’t get me started on those sports articles!

I believe all the things I’ve been through made me a better journalist. But most importantly, it made me a better person because I realized the true value of humility.

When we acknowledge that we still don’t know everything, we submit ourselves to those who know the craft more and in turn, we open ourselves to learning.

My mentors always tell me that success involves two things: skill and character. Character is the most important one. Skills will only get you so far. But the right attitude will not only give you achievements and fulfilment, it will lead you to the right people and where you’re supposed to be.

I am just very grateful for all that has happened to me in the past months. Cliche as it may sound,  the old saying is indeed true. The things we aspire for can happen, provided that we never stop chasing after them.

Leave a Reply

